The Flintstones (Season 1) DVD Review  

by Pool Builders on 09-09-2006 in Articles

Turning the television world flat on its head, The Flintstones became the first animated hit series in prime time history. Set in the Stone Age town of Bedrock, the show explored the lives of ancient cave dwellers through the lens of a modern lifestyle, with bird beaks acting as phonograph needles, elephant trunks as vacuum cleaners, and fireflies as light bulbs. With its measured use of top-grade humor and clever visuals, The Flintstones became an instant smash hit - spawning decades of syndicated re-runs, spin-offs, and thousands of derivative products...

Loosely modeled after the hit show The Honeymooners, The Flintstones follows the lives of burly loudmouth Fred Flintstone (who has a heart of gold) and his wife Wilma (who puts up with him). The couple lives next door to best friends Barney and Betty Rubble, and they have a dog (a dinosaur) named Dino to keep them company. Following in the footsteps of shows such as I Love Lucy, the show's characters are always inventing hair-brained schemes, attempting to cover up little white lies, or engaging in some other form of behavior bound to get them in trouble. The Flintstones also features numerous cameo appearances parodying famous personalities from the early-sixties... In the show's later years, each couple would add a child to the mix with Fred & Wilma having Pebbles (a little girl) and Barney & Betty adopting Bamm-Bamm (a little boy)...

The Flintstones DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere "The Flintstone Flyer" in which Fred pretends to be sick so he and Barney can get out of going to the opera with Wilma and Betty. Escaping in their Stone Age helicopter, the two go bowling, but it isn't long before Barney spills the beans on what they really did... Other notable episodes from Season 1 include "The Swimming Pool" in which Fred and Barney build a pool together only to have it strain their friendship, and "Hollyrock, Here I Come" in which Betty and Wilma win a trip to Hollyrock as a television game show prize...

Below is a list of episodes included on The Flintstones (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (The Flintstone Flyer) Air Date: 09-30-1960
Episode 2 (Hot Lips Hannigan) Air Date: 10-07-1960
Episode 3 (The Swimming Pool) Air Date: 10-14-1960
Episode 4 (No Help Wanted) Air Date: 10-21-1960
Episode 5 (The Split Personality) Air Date: 10-28-1960
Episode 6 (The Monster from the Tar Pits) Air Date: 11-04-1960
Episode 7 (The Babysitters) Air Date: 11-11-1960
Episode 8 (At the Races) Air Date: 11-18-1960
Episode 9 (The Engagement Ring) Air Date: 11-25-1960
Episode 10 (Hollyrock, Here I Come) Air Date: 12-02-1960
Episode 11 (The Golf Champion) Air Date: 12-09-1960
Episode 12 (The Sweepstakes Ticket) Air Date: 12-16-1960
Episode 13 (The Drive-in) Air Date: 12-23-1960
Episode 14 (The Prowler) Air Date: 12-30-1960
Episode 15 (The Girls Night Out) Air Date: 01-06-1961
Episode 16 (Arthur Quarry's Dance Class) Air Date: 01-13-1961
Episode 17 (The Big Bank Robbery) Air Date: 01-20-1961
Episode 18 (The Snorkasaurus Hunter) Air Date: 01-27-1961
Episode 19 (The Hot Piano) Air Date: 02-03-1961
Episode 20 (The Hypnotist) Air Date: 02-10-1961
Episode 21 (Love Letters on the Rocks) Air Date: 02-17-1961
Episode 22 (The Tycoon) Air Date: 02-24-1961
Episode 23 (The Astra' Nuts) Air Date: 03-04-1961
Episode 24 (The Long, Long Weekend) Air Date: 03-10-1961
Episode 25 (In the Dough) Air Date: 03-17-1961
Episode 26 (The Good Scout) Air Date: 03-24-1961
Episode 27 (Rooms for Rent) Air Date: 03-31-1961
Episode 28 (Fred Flintstone: Before and After) Air Date: 04-07-1961

Leave a Comment

List YOUR Pool Business